PowerBASIC Forums
  Cafe PowerBASIC
  ASSERTIVENET

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

UBBFriend: Email This Page to Someone! next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   ASSERTIVENET
Eros Olmi
Member
posted February 24, 2006 10:17 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Eros Olmi     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Looking at my web stats, I had a lot of contacts from ASSERTIVENET
Does someone knows what ASSERTIVENET is?
Is it a web spyder?

IPs from ASSERTIVENET are eating a lot of my web bandwidth!!

------------------
eros.olmi@thinbasic.com
www.thinbasic.com
"If PowerBasic doesn't have the solution, then you've got the wrong problem."

IP: Logged

Marc Doigny
Member
posted February 24, 2006 10:38 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Marc Doigny     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Hello Dino 2004 Membro Junior!
It could be referer-spam.
If you publish your server stats online, chances are that your logs will be infected by referer-spam.

Spammers look in google for give-away words like 'site statistiscs', 'top referers' and so on (the wording you would normally find on a Webalizer statistic)
When the spammers find such a site, they cause bugus page requests with their domain as referer.
The server software will records these requests and show them in the logs.
What did the spammers gain? An 'organic' link from a webserver that is rated in Google. When Google will index the site next, it will see these spam links and will count them as valid, increasing the spammer's rating.

More info http://afr_upd.verfaillie.be:20800/svt/seo/referer.htm

You can mail me your logs and i'll check if you could have a problem.

------------------
marc@verfaillie.be www.verfaillie.com www.idemdito.org Home server

[This message has been edited by Marc Doigny (edited February 24, 2006).]

IP: Logged

Mike Stefanik
Member
posted February 24, 2006 10:49 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Mike Stefanik     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
A Google search shows that a lot of people are asking the same question. More activity than a normal user, but not enough to be really construed as a DoS attack. Right now, it doesn't look like anyone knows exactly what's going on.

You could always just setup your system to reject any connections from that IP block. Assertivenet (Assertive Networks) looks like it's a service provider of some sort.

Edit: Marc is probably right.

------------------
Mike Stefanik
www.catalyst.com
Catalyst Development Corporation

[This message has been edited by Mike Stefanik (edited February 24, 2006).]

IP: Logged

Knuth Konrad
Member
posted February 24, 2006 11:06 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Knuth Konrad     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Yes, seems like Marc's on the right track:

http://groups.google.com/groups?q=assertivenet+group%3A*abuse*&qt_s=Search

Knuth

------------------
http://www.softAware.de

IP: Logged

Eros Olmi
Member
posted February 24, 2006 11:08 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Eros Olmi     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Problem is that is not a single IP but a big class of IPs.
This is just an example: http://www.thinbasic.com/assertivenet.jpg

I will try to block all IPs 66.154.000.000

Thanks
Eros

------------------
eros.olmi@thinbasic.com
www.thinbasic.com
"If PowerBasic doesn't have the solution, then you've got the wrong problem."

IP: Logged

Eros Olmi
Member
posted February 24, 2006 11:35 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Eros Olmi     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
---removed

[This message has been edited by Eros Olmi (edited February 24, 2006).]

IP: Logged

All times are EasternTime (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | PowerBASIC BASIC Compilers

Copyright © 1999-2005 PowerBASIC, Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.45c